#### Chair Wm. Weston J. Newton

First Vice-Chair: Laurie Slade Funderburk

Katherine E. (Katie) Arrington William K. (Bill) Bowers Neal A. Collins MaryGail K. Douglas William M. (Bill) Hixon Jeffrey E. (Jeff) Johnson Robert L. Ridgeway, III Bill Taylor John Taliaferro (Jay) West, IV

Jennifer L. Dobson Research Director

Cathy A. Greer Administration Coordinator

# Legislative Oversight Committee



South Carolina House of Representatives

Post Office Box 11867 Columbia, South Carolina 29211 Telephone: (803) 212-6810 • Fax: (803) 212-6811

Room 228 Blatt Building

Bruce W. Bannister Gary E. Clary Chandra E. Dillard Phyllis J. Henderson Joseph H. Jefferson, Jr. Mandy Powers Norrell Tommy M. Stringer Edward R. Tallon, Sr. Robert Q. Williams

Charles L. Appleby, IV Legal Counsel

Carmen J. McCutcheon Simon Research Analyst/Auditor

Kendra H. Wilkerson Fiscal/Research Analyst

#### **Education and Cultural Subcommittee**

Thursday, September 6, 2018 Room 110 Blatt Building

#### Archived Video Available

I. Pursuant to House Legislative Oversight Committee Rule 6.8, South Carolina ETV was allowed access for streaming the meeting. You may access an archived video of this meeting by visiting the South Carolina General Assembly's website (http://www.scstatehouse.gov) and clicking on Committee Postings and Reports, then under House Standing Committees click on Legislative Oversight. Then, click on Video Archives for a listing of archived videos for the Committee.

#### Attendance

I. The Education and Cultural Subcommittee meeting was called to order by Chairman Joseph H. Jefferson, Jr., Thursday, September 6, 2018, in Room 110 of the Blatt Building. All members were present for some or all of the meeting.

#### Minutes

I. House Rule 4.5 requires standing committees to prepare and make available to the public the minutes of committee meetings, but the minutes do not have to be verbatim accounts of meetings. It is the practice of the Legislative Oversight Committee to provide minutes for its subcommittee meeting.

II. Representative Tommy M. Stringer moves to approve the minutes from the Subcommittee's meeting on August 16, 2018. A roll call vote is held, and the motion passes.

Representative Stringer's motion to approve the minutes from the August 16, 2018, meeting:	Yea	Nay	Not Voting: Present	Not Voting: Absent
Chandra E. Dillard	✓			
Joseph H. Jefferson, Jr.	✓			
Tommy Stringer	✓			
John Taliaferro (Jay) West, IV	✓			

## Discussion of Educational Television Commission (SCETV)

- I. Chairman Jefferson provides opening comments and states that this is the subcommittee's third meeting with SCETV. Further, he explains the purpose of today's meeting is to receive testimony about all four of the agency's goals, associated resources, and performance.
- II. Chairman Jefferson reminds SCETV President and CEO Anthony Padgett and other agency representatives that they remain under oath.
- III. Mr. Padgett provides testimony on the following topics:
  - a. Agency mission and vision
  - b. Response to Subcommittee questions from previous meeting
  - c. Agency goals
  - d. Recommendations
- IV. Different subcommittee members ask questions, which Mr. Padgett and other agency representatives answer. Question topics include, but are not limited to:
  - a. Framing of employee feedback questions
  - b. Donor suspension reasons
  - c. Collaboration with technical college system
  - d. Turnover
  - e. Capital maintenance schedule
  - f. Employee recruitment
  - g. Resource reassignment

### Adjournment

I. There being no further business, the meeting is adjourned.